NOTICE: Due to COVID19, Minnesota Session Laws recently passed an amendment to allow Marriage License Application and Oath without appearance during a peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19. This will allow the Land Records & Vitals office to administer the marriage oath to couples thru virtual communication.
During the Peacetime Emergency, you can complete the Carver County Marriage License Application, sign and mail the completed application with payment to Carver County Land Records & Vitals, 600 E 4th St, Chaska MN 55318. Be sure to include an email address and cell phone number on the application where you can be reached. Someone from Land Records & Vitals will follow up with instructions to complete the following processes:
- Video call, both parties must be present
- Marriage License Oath
- Completed Verification Statement
- Appointment times fill up quickly; allow extra time from the date of your video call in order to receive your marriage license prior to your marriage date
Note: A Marriage License is only good for 6 months. It is important that your Officiant has their credentials recorded in MN at least one day prior to the marriage.
Pursuant to the Freedom to Marry law taking effect August 1, 2013, the Carver County Marriage License Application has been revised to be applicable for all couples filing an application for marriage.
The license is valid for 6 months from the date of issue and is valid for wedding ceremonies taking place within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota.
**If you applied for a marriage license and your wedding date has been delayed because of COVID19 and you are still within the 6-month active timeframe, you may be able to return the marriage packet you received from Carver County. You would not receive a refund however you would be eligible for a reissued license when you are able to reschedule your wedding.
Per MS 517.08 Subd 1b(a) If the license should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee.
Blood tests are not required in the state of Minnesota. Minnesota does not recognize Common Law marriage.
Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license per Minnesota Statute 517.08. If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent applicant's information. Our office will provide a copy of the marriage application along with a supplemental form to the party who is unable to appear. The absent applicant must verify the accuracy of their information and have the supplemental form notarized and returned back to our office.
You will need the following information for both parties when applying for a marriage license:
- Full legal name
- Date of birth
- Place of birth
- Social security number (if one has been issued)
- Current age
- Current address to include the county where that address is located
- Any previous marriage information (i.e., date of divorce, county, and state where it took place, name of court, date of death); no divorce documents are required
- Legal name after marriage
- Address after marriage.
Carver County Marriage License Application (This application can be printed, completed & brought with you to the Land Records & Vitals Department; however, do not sign the application until you are in the presence of our staff.)
The cost is $115.00 due at time of application, unless you have taken 12 hours or more of pre-marital classes. (Note: A marriage license purchased in Minnesota only allows you to be married within the geographical boundaries of the State of Minnesota. There are no refunds.)
The cost is $40 with at least 12 hours of pre-marital classes. In order to qualify for a reduced marriage license fee, the parties must submit at the time of application a signed, dated and notarized Educator's Statement from a licensed or ordained minister or minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under M.S. 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy per M.S. 148B.33 on their letterhead confirming that the classes were received. If a notary is unavailable, we can accept the signed and dated statement with the church seal. Per M.S. 517.08, the statement from the person who provided the premarital education must be in the following form:
"I, ....................(name of educator), confirm that ...................(full legal names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."
Note: The names of the parties on the Educator's Statement must be identical to the full legal names as completed on the marriage license application. You must submit the completed Educator's Statement at the time of application for your marriage license. If the certificate/statement does not meet the requirements, it will be rejected giving you the choice to get a new certificate/statement or pay the full price.
Educator's Statement requirements and a sample of an Educator's Statement are available for public use. Please contact Carver County Land Records & Vitals Department at 952-361-1901 if you have any questions on this form.
We accept cash, checks or credit/debit cards (Visa, MasterCard & Discover). Please make checks payable to Carver County.
A list of individuals who can perform a marriage ceremony is available by clicking here.